Meandering Path Quilt




Hello Everyone! My name is Ellie from Craft Sew Create. I am so excited to be sharing my first Moda Bake Shop project!  I have been crafting and sewing since I got my first sewing machine in middle school. But I am currently obsessed with quilts! I absolutely fell in love with Lauren + Jessi Jung’s BOTANY fabric and knew I wanted to make a simple, modern quilt out of it.
 
One Botany by Lauren + Jessi Jung Layer Cake
One Botany by Lauren + Jessi Jung Charm Pack
1/2 yard Botany fabric for binding
3 yards Botany fabric for backing
Batting

 
Step 1:
{Cutting}
Take the entire Layer Cake and cut each square in half.
 
You will have two 5″ x 10″ rectangles.
Cut 1/2″ off of each 5″ side of the rectangle. Your rectangles will now be 5″ x 9 1/2″. {You can cut the 1/2″ off before you cut the squares in half, it will save time…I just didn’t get that picture, lol!}

That’s it! Now the fun begins.

Step 2: 
{Layout}
I like to lay my quilt squares first so I can get the colors right where I want them. This is layout I liked the best, feel free to move yours around a bit. There are seven rows where the 5″ x 91/2″ rectangles are laid out vertically, and two groupings where the rectangles are laid out horizontally with an alternating Charm Square. Some of the vertical rows have Charm Squares at the top and bottom so that the rows can be variegated.

Here is an illustration so you could see the layout. From left to right the quilt has two vertical rows, a horizontal grouping row, three vertical rows, a horizontal grouping row, and then two vertical rows.  

Step 3:
{Sew the Rows}
 Use a 1/4″ seam for the whole project. The first row has a Charm Square, 7 vertical rectangles and then a Charm Square. 
The second row has 8 vertical rectangles.
 
Next is the horizontal grouping row. Each row has one Charm Square and one 5″ x 91/2″ rectangle. Alternate between having the Charm Square on the left and on the right. There are 16 rows.
Don’t forget to press your seams along the way! I like to press mine open.
Step 4: 




{Sew the Rows Together}
                    

When you sew the rows together be sure to match the corners. 
On the outside rows and center row you can match the corners when you pin the row on like this.

Voila! Your quilt top is complete! 
 Now it’s time to Baste….
Quilt…
(I quilted the vertical rows with a vertical stripe and quilted the horizontal grouping rows in a stipple. I love the contrast and how it allows the different rows to stand out.)
…and Bind!

 

You’re done, yay! Let me know if you make it, I’d love to see pictures! If you have any questions or to show me some pics, email me at craftsewcreate@gmail.com.


One beautiful 60″ x 72″ Meandering Path Quilt!







Leave a comment