A Sweet Baby Quilt



4 Charm Packs-Sweet by Urban Chiks

1/2 yard fabric for binding
Batting that measures at least 47″ x 56″
2 2/3 yards of backing fabric

First, make your template. To do this, I used the cardboard that came in the back of the charm pack. How handy is that? Measure in one inch in from each side at the top and make a dot. Connect that dot to the lower corners and cut out your template.

Using your template, carefully cut out your blocks. You will be using all but 4 charms, so if you care to use those for a different project, set them aside now. You can cut up to 4 charms at a time-any more than that seems to compromise accuracy.

Chose any two blocks…


and prepare to sew them together. They will need to be offset the slightest bit, so when the seam is opened up, the blocks will form a straight line.
Press the seam open. Repeat making rows 13 blocks wide. Make 12 strips of 13.

Layout the rows and make sure they are in a pleasing arrangement. A digital photo really helps for this step.

Take the first two strips, line up the seams, pin at each intersection and sew.
Open up the seam and press.
Continue this until you have sewn all the rows together.
Trim the edges of the quilt square. (You could eliminate the trimming step and bind the angled edges, which would require bias binding.)

And your quilt top is complete.
Baste, quilt and bind.

For quilting, I echoed the seam lines on each side using the edge of my walking foot as a guide.


One sweet baby quilt that measures 45″ x 54″.
by amandajean of crazymomquilts

43 comments on “A Sweet Baby Quilt

  1. That is a lovely quilt! Thanks for posting, can't wait to give it a go

    Sheryn

  2. taka-mtg says:

    Очень красиво!!!!!!Блог у вас замечательный и работы великолепные!!!!!

  3. synnove75 says:

    This really IS sweet! Think I'm gonna try this one…

  4. Sara says:

    soo cute!! I did it!!

  5. Janet says:

    Never mind the baby, I'd have that as a lap quilt! Fabulous.

  6. Shawn says:

    A very “Sweet” quilt Amanda, I love Sweet and your quilts!

  7. Tara says:

    I love tumblers! Great job as usual!

  8. beautiful… i love those fabrics

  9. Jackie says:

    Terrific use of the charms packs. Love the quilt!

  10. Quilt Hollow says:

    Like the movement by just having taken a sliver off of the charm.

  11. lissa says:

    Adorable Amandajean!

  12. PunkiePie says:

    very very cute! I will have to try this one. You make the blocks look so easy!

  13. jaybird says:

    so adorable!!! i love how you used the cardboard in the charm pack for the template… brilliant!!

  14. That is so cute. And how ingenious to use the cardboard on the back of the charm pack for your template. I save those but never know what to do with them. I might just try this pattern too. Super cute!

  15. This would work on ANY layer cake by first cutting it into four 5″ sections. BRILLIANT and such a cute project. Thanks for sharing. On my list of “must do”. XXX Annie

  16. Bowlby says:

    This turned out beautifully! I'll definitely have to try it. Thanks for making it look so easy!

  17. Cute!! I love how sweet it is 🙂

  18. beth says:

    great job on the directions! perfect! AND I love the quilt!

  19. Now that looks like a quilt I could do! So cute and clever!

    MGM

  20. Very very nice ;> I'm going to try this one really soon! 😀 Thanks!

  21. What a great quilt, and a great tutorial, too! I'll have to try this one. Thanks!

  22. Heather says:

    I’ve been wanting to make a tumbler quilt so bad, but didn’t know how to go about it, who know it was so simple? Thanks for the great instructions.

  23. Yummy!! Love it!! I'm going to make one today. Thanks for the great idea!

  24. Jenny says:

    very nice indeed..

  25. Stacey says:

    Love it…I stink at the binding part though…to get that far and screw up the binding really gets me!

    Thansk for the inspiration!

  26. hoganfe says:

    Love the prints & the quilt! Thanks for sharing!

    mary
    hoganfe handmade
    handbag originals

  27. Trisha says:

    Love it! So cute!

  28. Robin says:

    Love it! This is one I'm going to give a go at. Thanks for posting!

  29. I've been looking at tumbler quilts and wanting to make one. Thanks for making it so easy for us.

    I love that you used the cardboard as your template. That way you know your template won't be too big. Can you tell I've been there and done that?

  30. kd4h says:

    I just had an AHA! moment. I never realized how easy it was to make this pattern! I've looked at it and wanted to try it–but now I feel ready to try it. Great job and thanks for making it seem so easy!

  31. tammiemarie says:

    i love this line of fabrics, and this is a great way to show them off! lovely as usual.

  32. Linda says:

    Cute cute cute! I never thought about using the cardboard for a template before. Great idea!

  33. dotti white says:

    Thanks for creating this–such a beautiful quilt! You are very talented, as always!

  34. Amanda says:

    Thanks, Amanda, for sharing this! I've always wanted to make one of these!

  35. Jennifer says:

    oh yay. i'm going to make this using my fresh cut charms. 😀

  36. SG says:

    Lovely quilt! Great tutorial! Thanks!

  37. Mama Monique says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    I am a beginner on the quiltworld but really lóve all the quiltworks I've seen over the internet and all around. With this discription of yours I think I really can put my first step in the world of quilting.

    Thanks again. Can't wait to give it a go!

  38. Marcia says:

    Adorable! Love it! Thanks!

  39. happy zombie says:

    Amanda Jean… you do it AGAIN! You make me want to drop everything and make one of your coolest of cool projects. I'm still on a CMQ high when I saw your zig-zag quilt made on someone's blog. NOW WHAT DO IT DO?!?!

    I see only one solution. I need to rent a cabin for a couple of months. No phones, no tv… just an internet connection so I can make all of your projects.

  40. happy zombie says:

    Oooops… NOW WHAT DO I DO?!?!

Leave a comment