The Happy Campground



Make this quick easy table runner and coordinating cozy lampshade in a weekend! It’s just that easy.


Happy Camper Honey Bun, Charm Pack, 1/3 yard red pindot for star points, 1/3 yard red plaid for binding, 1/2 yard backing fabric, lampshade

rick rack, ribbon, lace or any other interesting trim for lampshade

Select 6 charm squares for star bodies. Selecting coordinating star points and bodies lets your stars stand out in this runner. Select 18 charm squares for remainder of runner, setting aside 4 of those for corners.

Cut (26) 2 3/4 inch squares from red pindot

Draw a line diagonally through red pindot squares.


Stitch a red square on opposite corners of each star body, stitching on pencil line


Stitch a red square on one corner of the remaining squares EXCLUDING the four corners.

Press squares towards corners on all blocks. Cut away excess triangles if desired. I cut away the inner portion.

Using the finished runner as a guideline, layout blocks. Stitch blocks into rows pressing in alternate directions. Layer and quilt as desired. Bind with 2 1/4 inch binding strips. Sit back and enjoy your fast and easy table runner.

One quick and easy Happy Camper table runner. (14 x 36.5)

With gathering foot set as 6, gather a variety of honey bun strips 1/4 inch from top of strip. The number of strips needed will depend on the size of your lampshade. This medium sized shade took 16 strips. Set aside your favorite strip for the very top. I used one color for each layer. Lay out your strips and decide how you’d like your lampshade to look.

Begin at the bottom of the shade. Using a hot glue gun or fast drying craft glue, run a small bead of glue at the binding line of the shade. Line up the stitch line on the strip with the binding line in the glue. This will keep your outside edge nice and even. (Note: I like things that line up and appear nice and even, you might like it more whimsical. My instructions are a guideline.) Follow along edge of shade.

On a medium sized shade one strip will only cover about half the circumference of the lower half of the shade. I glued the end of the first strip to the edge, then folded over 1/4 inch of the incoming strip and glued it over the first strip for a nice transition.


At the end, trim off excess, fold end of strip under 1/4 inch and glue in place over first strip. It is more important the bottoms of the strips match than the tops.


For the remaining rows, apply glue to gathering stitch line on strip, about 1 1/2 inch or so at a time. Line up so that the bottom of the new strip just covers the stitch line of the previous row. Begin and end rows in the same manner as instructed above.

The last row is attached by running the glue bead around the binding at the top of the lampshade and adhering the last strip so the top is even with the top of the lampshade. A strip of trim can be used to hide stitching if so desired.


A fun and frilly lampshade!

I hope you enjoy these Happy Camper Accessories as much as I do!

26 comments on “The Happy Campground

  1. Kim says:

    I love the lampshade. It's just so adorable and the quilted table runner is simply darling too! What a wonderful project!!!

  2. Donna says:

    Both these projects are totally cute. And your tutorial is very nicely done.

  3. Sissamar says:

    I love your blog! I'm portuguese and i folling this blog for look your adorable projects.
    I'm sorry i dont “talk” and write inglsh very well.
    Silvia

  4. Jackie says:

    You are a genius! So darn cute!

  5. jaybird says:

    super cute pkm!! maybe i'll have enough leftovers to make the runner…hmmm

  6. Cheryl says:

    cute! Cute! Cute!
    Love both projects. Love that they are quick and can be cone in a weekend.
    Thanks for sharing.

  7. Rachel says:

    Ah, both are so cute! Love that lampshade! How inspiring! πŸ˜€ And that table runner is charming! I can't wait to try it! πŸ™‚

    I just LOVE this blog! Thank you to everyone who has contributed! I so enjoy getting these free patterns and ideas! πŸ˜‰ You are all so talented!

    Blessings!
    ~Miss Rachel~

  8. I am getting a ruffler pronto. that is the most adorable lampshade ever! Happy Camper indeed! Pam in Chico

  9. Dmitrena says:

    ΠŸΡ€Π΅Π»Π΅ΡΡ‚Π½ΠΎ, чудСсно))beautiful))

  10. Elizabeth says:

    You already know how I feel about that lampshade…swoon!
    I think my house needs some more lamps!

  11. jabeybaby says:

    I love that lampshade!! And the tablerunner is very cute!

  12. Sheri Howard says:

    That lampshade is just about the cutest things I have seen in a long time!

  13. SUPER cute miss pam.
    maybe i should make one like yours so that the lampshade i did will have a friend.
    tehehe.

    β™₯

  14. Cyndi Walker says:

    Oh my goodness is that cute or what? So amazing Pam! I have a ruffler now too… πŸ™‚

  15. happy zombie says:

    I cut myself trying to jump through my monitor. I just want to be in that photo with your lamp and table runner. I can almost smell the lakewater and the pine trees at the cabin. I'm gaga over your projects, Pam. Ga. Ga.

    Super gaga.

  16. Ack! Mega mega adorable!!! Gobsmacked!

  17. Candace says:

    Wow – fantastic, Pam! I'm gonna make one for my new studio at the Squash House! Thanks for a terrific idea!
    Cheers!

  18. dotti white says:

    I love these! Very nice job! I will definitely be making them.

  19. jen duncan says:

    Oh my word Pam. That lampshade alone is worth ever having come up with the idea of honeybuns. SO SWEET!!

  20. Trabajo extraordinario, la felicito.Sencillas y precisas instrucciones.

  21. Amanda says:

    How cute is this?!!! I love it!

  22. Marianne says:

    Oh my, that lampshade is so very cute! Love it!

  23. I don't think I've EVER seen a cuter lamp shade!! I love it!

  24. Kari says:

    Very cute idea Pam! Love the lampshade—do i have a gathering foot??? I will have to check!
    Kari

Leave a comment