Princess Pea Blanket


1 Honey Bun – featured Spring Magic by April Cornell
Layer Cake Squares or scraps for Applique’
1/2 yard of coordinating fabric for blanket front
1 3/4 yards of coordinating fabric for backing.
1 1/2 yards of coodrinating fabrics for ruffle trim.
1 3/4 yards of batting – featured Kyoto batting by Luna batting by Moda
3 yards each of various coordinating colors of ric-rac and other trim embellishments.
1 green button for the pea
Printed applique pattern for the Princess
Coordinating threads for applique
Wonder-Under fusible web

Separate your honey bun into the appropriate colorways and decide on a color pattern (green, pink, teal, yellow, green, pink…) Start with your first strip and add a trim embellishment.
Add your second color strip right sides together. I used a white Moda scalloped trim and ric rac between the strips to act as a sheet in between the stacked mattresses.

Continue adding strips and trims until you have sewn all 40 strips together.

Cut your coordinating fabric for the blanket front, 16″ wide by the width of the fabric. Sew to the top of your strips or “stacked mattresses”.
Iron all the strips down going in one direction. The raw edges should all be going toward the top of the blanket.

Topstitch all the strips about an 1/8″ on the bottom of each strip tacking the raw edge down on the back.

Print out the Applique pattern from the Printable version and cut out all the pieces.

Decide on what fabrics to use for each piece. I used layer cake squares as they are perfect size for the appliques and I have the whole range to choose from for my princess. For the face and hands I used a Moda wool in a flesh tone color.


Apply Wonder-Under (or other fusible web) to each of the fabrics for your applique.

Trace around all the applique pieces onto the fusible side of each of your fabric selections. Wonder-Under has a paper on one side so you can easily trace and cut before you peel it off to fuse it to your project.


For the dress, mark where the sleeve is located with a fabric pencil so when you machine applique you can stitch in the sleeve for the dress.


Layout all your pieces together before ironing so if you need to make adjustments you can still do so. Once you have everything where you want it… iron down in place.


Machine or hand applique your princess to your blanket.

Round off the corners using a bowl or something round as a guide. This will make it easier when sewing the ruffle on around the corners.
From your coodinating fabric for the ruffle trim, cut 8 strips all 6″ wide by the width of the fabric. Sew all the strips together end to end creating one long strip. Iron in half length wise now making your strip 3″ doubled on fold. I used a ruffle foot on my machine to create the ruffle. You can also do this by stitching a long loose stitch and then pull one of the threads delicately creating a ruffle. If you do it by hand, then you will need to make sure you stitch your ruffle down in place so it does not come undone when adding to your blanket.

Sew your ruffle on to your blanket top with the ruffle facing in towards the blanket. I like to start my ruffle end even with my raw edge of my blanket top to conceal any raw edges.
Then simply turn the ruffle edge to match up with the blanket edge and stitch all around the blanket.


When you get back all the way around to the other end, overlap the two ruffles about an inch or two and then curve the end down and sew across the raw edge to conceal the edge when attaching the back.

Trim off any excess ruffle so it is even with the raw edge of the blanket top.


Now it is time to sandwich the blanket with your batting. I wanted a loftier feel so I used two layers of batting. Lay the batting down first.

Next lay the blanket backing on top of the batting with the right side up. Use safety pins into your carpet to help hold it tight and straight.

Next layer the blanket top right side down facing the right side of the backing. Be sure your ruffle in sandwiched between your backing and blanket top. Pin all around the blanket edges to make sure it will not shift when sewing. Sew your layers together like a big pillow. Leave about a 6-8 inch opening for turning. Also be sure that sew with a seam allowance large enought to hide your seams on the ruffle.

Flip your blanket right side out so that your batting is now sandwiched between your backing and top. The ruffle will now be on the edges of your blanket as your trim. Stitch the opening closed by machine or hand.

To hold the batting in place, I tied off the blanket with a coodinating Mettler cordonnet thread. Decide on what mattress your pea (button) will reside and hand sew in place.


One adorable little blanket for your special princess!
Angela Yosten

42 comments on “Princess Pea Blanket

  1. alice232 says:

    The last thing that I needed was another sewing project, BUT…., this is going to the top of the list. This is about the cutest thing I’ve ever seen! thank you! thank you! for sharing. I’ll make one for my little girl — someday, hopefully soon.

  2. OMG this is darling! I would have never thought of this!! I was just getting ready to make a doll, 12 mattresses and a felted pea for my daughter, she loves the story, might have to make one of these now too! C.U.T.E.

  3. Adorable! Great idea 🙂

  4. Angela it’s adorable! ooxx`jodi

  5. Dianne says:

    Wow! What a great tutorial! This is so cute…and a great new idea for those honey buns! Even though I’ve got two boys…I’m going to be SEARCHING for a way to make this for a little girl!

  6. Oh my goodness. I love the pea! That’s sooo cute!

  7. Aimee says:

    OMG this is the cutest thing I have ever seen! ADORABLE! And so original! THANKS!

  8. madrekarin says:

    Okay, now my one of children has to get married and start having children!! Especially a little girl. This is totally adorable!

  9. aawwww!! that is so fun!

  10. pure cuteness angela.

  11. Wow love this, and I particularly love the clever use of trim!

  12. Collette says:

    This is incredibly adorable. Really clever!

  13. Vickie E says:

    That is awesome!!!!

  14. Keri says:

    Thanks for the amazing quilt idea! I’m new to your blog but I’m already an addict!

  15. Mimi says:

    That is absolutely adorable.

  16. miss~nance says:

    This is simply ADORABLE. Now gotta get my slef a honey bun (to add to my 3 jelly rols, one layer, one charm pack and one twice the charm roll, not to mention the yardgae that goes along with all those itmes).

  17. This is so sweet. Thanks for sharing the pattern.

  18. dotti white says:

    Angela…this is really sweet. Thanks for sharing, designing and just inspiring!

  19. LilyHaven says:

    That is absolutely precious!!!!

  20. Renee says:

    I was just about to make a coin quilt with my honeybun, but I Love this! I am off to make it now!

  21. Smila says:

    WOW! This is amazing!

  22. Sonja says:

    So charming:D
    Thank you for your tuto!

  23. BillieSews says:

    What an absolutely adorable project. I really, really need a granddaughter. I’ve put my order in but no one is paying any attention to my request!

  24. suesueb says:

    so adorable-thanks!!

  25. jabeybaby says:

    This is just too cute!

  26. piko0099 says:

    nicely done!!! tutorial is written very well. thanks. putting this on my very long list of projects!

  27. MonFilRouge says:

    How cute! I should stop getting ideas…really have enough on the to do list but this is devinitely one to add!!

  28. sadieloree says:

    This is BRILLIANT!! Positively adorable and absolutely beautiful! My little girl would love this!

  29. Ana says:

    hi!!

    very interesting your blog! congrats 😉

  30. UnBeLiEvAbLe Angela!!!! wow, wow, wow!! I love the moda bakeshop and all the wonderful projects, but this one is the *star* for sure. What a wonderful creative idea. My daughter is too old for me to make this for her but my niece is NOT!! I will most definately be attempting this one in the future.
    Thank-you so much!!!!
    Jillian :o)

  31. amandajean says:

    that is the SWEETEST!!! i love it!

  32. a very clever and decorative idea.
    great!

    i set a link. i hope you*ll agree.

    thanks for the detailed tutorial.

    doro.

  33. GailM. says:

    This is adorable. I'm making this for sure. I have the perfect little 1 year old to make this for. Many thanks for doing this tutorial.

  34. Sharla says:

    Love this! I'm especially excited to see how you did the ruffle.

  35. How simply adorable! That is the cutest quilt I've seen in a long time. Jenn

  36. happy zombie says:

    Super cute, Angela!

  37. Cara says:

    Wow!!! LOVE this blanket! Gonna have to add it to the list to do for my little princess! Thanks for another awesome tutorial!

  38. Kathleen says:

    I adore this and a great way to use up scraps and strips of pretty fabric…and all those lovely trims

    can't wait to get my trims out and get started on this …thank you so much!

  39. Hibler House says:

    I've been putting this one off for some time now, but I'm getting started today. Curious, what is the finished size of this blanket? Thanksfor sharing your wonderful ideas!

  40. Oh….!!!
    That's just WONDERFUL!
    Thank you so very much for sharing this little peace of art.
    I can't wait to sew it!
    THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  41. susan says:

    very cute, but am thinking of downsizing it for my granddaughter for xmas. what is the size of the blanket?
    thanks for the great tute!

  42. Yvonne says:

    Oh:-) I´m very glad to found your page.
    This blanket is so lovley, i just want to sew it..NOW!
    Thank you very much,
    Love greetings from Yvonne

Leave a comment