Scruffily Quilt



1 hushabye charm pack
1 hushabye jelly roll
1 hushabye layer cake
4 yards of backing

cut a 2 1/2″ square from each jelly roll strip for a total of fourty 2 1/2″ squares.

lay out 36 layer cake pieces in a 6×6 setting.
make sure it’s in an order that you love.
{i did this on my livingroom floor.}

lay one charm square on top of each layer cake piece.

lay one 2 1/2″ square on top of each charm square so that all the squares are appealing to you.

note: you don’t have to do this step, if you don’t want.
i stacked all my rows and labeled them to take them to my machine.
{i didn’t want to run back & forth from my machine to my livingroom floor.}
feel free to do what works for you.
sew a charm square to your layer cake square, using a 1/4″ seam allowance.
{a walking foot comes in handy here.}

sew a 2 1/2″ square on top of your charm square, still using 1/4″ seam allowance.
rinse & repeat to make 35 more squares.

sew your rows together to make your quilt top.

layer, baste & quilt as desired.
{i outline quilted around the blocks.}
i used the rest of my jelly roll to make a pieced binding…and i ā™„ it.
i highly recommend yall do it.
it’s SO worth it.

wash & dry your quilt for that straight from the dryer crinkly goodness.
be prepared to trim some strings.


now you have one amazing scruffily quilt!!!
oh how i ā™„ it!!!

this quilt is the perfect movie watching quilt finishing at 55″ square.

not to mention it’s an easy peasy gift for all those peeps on your gift list.
and the possiblities are endless.
just think of all those color options.
i’m currently making another one in cotton blossoms.
{i know…be still my heart.}
p.s. my scruffily quilt won a gold medal at the ohio outdoor quilt festival!!!

rachel of p.s. i quilt

62 comments on “Scruffily Quilt

  1. Mandy says:

    Ladies who were wondering… I live in Canada where these Moda Bake Shop pre-cuts don't live…

    so I order them from http://www.fabricsquareshop.com/shop/ and I have to say their prices are great, sometimes they have deals on shipping and I've always had the best service there. ā¤

  2. Becky says:

    That is one fab, cute, easy, I gotta have it quilt!

    Thank you so much for sharing!!

  3. Rose says:

    I saw one similar to this but they used fabric spray adhesive and quilted it at the same time as sewing it…it was on Quilt Taffy. Love this one though, so easy! I also love the colors šŸ™‚

  4. Debra says:

    Love your quilt! Thanks for sharing :).

  5. My mother would have loved this !!
    I think it is very unique and cute!

  6. I'm having a hard time finding a backing fabric that I like with the “Hushabye”. Any suggestions? Rachel what did you use? Was it Moda fabric too?

  7. Kekumukula says:

    What pretty, beautiful material you have chosen for this quilt. I'm slowly starting to learn how to sew. Although I know quilting is a bit different in process, what an inspiration you have shared.

  8. i used moda fabrics for the entire quilt.
    the backing i used it the hushabye owl stripe sage print.
    sku# 23040 12

    hope this helps.

  9. knittedninja says:

    That is absolutely adorable! I'm going to have to make one of these soon!

    Thanks for sharing : )

  10. Rafael's Mum says:

    What a fantastic quilt! Congratulations on your Gold Medal! Well done!

  11. charlie says:

    This comment is a little late, but no matter, you are still the Bomb, girl. Yet again you've come up with something clever, fun, and so well done. No stretch here, you always hit it out of the park. Can't wait to make this. Thanks for another great tutorial.

  12. Bobbi says:

    i made one of these quilts and finally finished!!! i LOVE this pattern! check out my pics http://www.craftyvegasmom.blogspot.com

    you sooo have to make one! šŸ™‚

Leave a comment