Candy Buttons Quilt


 Designed by Vickie Eapen


• 2 Charm packs of Sweet by Urban Chiks
• 1 1/4 yard background fabric Moda Bella Solid Snow sku# 9900-11
• 2 yards border Sweet Sugar Creamsicle sku# 31056 28
• 4 yards backing Spots Cream Bright sku#31054 11
• 1 yard Sweet Candy Stripe Gumdrop sku#31057 17 bias binding
• Sizzix Die cutter & Circle #1 and/or other 4 inch acrylic circle template (Omnigrid)
• Clover large orange Yo-Yo maker
• Batting 55 X 55 inches

Gather all your supplies, 2 charm packs of Sweet, a 4 inch circle cutter or template, and background fabric.


I used a Circle #1 for the Original Sizzix machine to cut my circles. I can cut 5 charms at a time. I know there are several other companies that make die cutting machines (Accu-Cut) and templates (Omnigrid), if you do not have access to a Sizzix. As long as it is a 4 inch diameter circle it will work.
• cut 36 charm circles for the blocks
• cut 25 charm circles for the yo-yo’s

I used 6.5 inch background squares to finish to 6 inches.

• cut (36) 6.5 inch background fabrics
• layer the circles onto the backgrounds and pin in place.

• sew around the circle edge with a 1/4 inch seam for all 36 blocks. Leave a raw edge.


• Lay out the circle blocks on a design wall or bed, 6 blocks X 6 blocks.

Begin sewing 2 by 2 until you have 6 rows of 6. At that point the cross rows can sewn together.
Once the main quilt is sewn then prepare the yo-yo’s for applique.

The 4 inch circle fits the large yo-yo perfectly.

• Then applique the 25 yo-yo’s at the background fabric intersections.
• Cut 4 strips of orange border fabric approximately 6 inches X 48 inches
(measure your quilt top as seam allowances may vary)
• Then sub cut 2 of the 4 strips 6″ X 36″
• Sew the 36″ border to top and bottom of the quilt
• Then sew the 48″ border to the sides.


This quilt was custom by Jackie in CT. She quilted the swirls in the circle centers and meander around the yo-yo’s. The raw edges of the circles were NOT quilted to allow them to fray a bit for added dimension.


The quilt will be square 47″ X 47″.

• Next take a 5 inch acrylic Omnigrid circle template and line the curve with the corner of the border.

• Using a rotary cutter trim the point off the quilt.
Make bias binding with your favorite method and sew to quilt. Make sure to ease binding around the corners.


A quilt about 47 X 47 inches.

92 comments on “Candy Buttons Quilt

  1. Karen says:

    LOVE this quilt!! It's one of my favorite Moda lines AND patterns to date on this site!

    Great tutorial!

  2. Beckylew says:

    Cute cute cute! I love the raggy edges and the curved corners!

  3. Melissa C says:

    I have never made yo yos, but I could for this quilt.

  4. Kim says:

    Can you tell us how you applique the yoyo down? Do you just catch the edges?

    This is adorable!
    Happy Sewing

  5. Very cute! I just never get tired of Sweet and projects using Sweet!

  6. tina says:

    Vicki that is adorable! Fresh and modern and yet vintage at the same time, love it!

  7. Amy R says:

    So cheerful! Just love it

  8. happy zombie says:

    Soooo cute, Vickie! What a darling quilt and fabrics – and I love the name you picked too. All too darn cute!

  9. Okay. The yo-yo's and the curved corners really make this quilt special. Just lovely.

  10. Sinta Renee says:

    Vicki- your tutorial is done perfectly. So easy to follow! Thanks for sharing your adorable quilt, your an inspiration!

  11. Dianne says:

    very very cute! love this one!

  12. Allie says:

    I never have tried yo-yos before and am itching to try. Pick me. Pick me, please.

  13. amandajean says:

    so sweet!!! i love the circles! nice job, vickie!

  14. Sherry says:

    A tutorial on how to make it! Fantastic. Thank you!

  15. Can't wait to make this!

  16. surfed on from oneprettything.com oh my goodness, that is the cutest technique ever. i am going to be the first one on the block to make one!

  17. Susan says:

    I love the quilt and the instructions are wonderful. Thanks so much!

  18. Jeannie Gan says:

    It will be a fun quilt to make. Yo-Yo brings back the good memory. I used to make them when I was a tiney-weeny girl.

  19. I love this quilt. I want to make it this weekend. And I love your picture of the curved corners, it looks so easy and great. I might always have rounded edges from now on.

  20. rebecca says:

    Great tutorial!! No print the pattern option?

  21. mascanlon says:

    Yreat instructions! I was just thinking about curved corners on the little girls quilt I am finishing up.

  22. Thim3 says:

    Oh thank you for this pattern. It is so cute. I have just recently gotten hooked on makine yo yos. They are relaxing to do while watching tv. This pattern will work so well with my yo yos.

  23. Anne says:

    I love candy buttons! very cute!

  24. Mimi says:

    Love this quilt, the fabrics, circles, all of it! Thanks for the inspiration

  25. Jane says:

    LOVE your clever design. Have never seen a quilt so cute. Jane

  26. hoganfe says:

    absolutely adorable quilt! hope I win the giveaway!

    mary
    hoganfe handmade
    handbag originals

  27. quilter000 says:

    Oh My!!! Friend what a sweet quilt. I love it and will try to make one . You have outdone yourself on this one! What a great job thanks for sharing it too!!
    quilter000 you know who

  28. Cynthia says:

    I love this quilt. I really really love it. It is already on my list of quilts to do, the high end of the list….

  29. Bella says:

    Love the quilt and the colors! Thanks for another project to add to my list that could possibly be completed in 180 years!

  30. KC Quilter says:

    Thanks for the tute!! Love this quilt.

  31. eamylove says:

    Here's my second entry. Even if I don't win, I want to make this one.

  32. quiltmamajb says:

    This comment has been removed by the author.

  33. quiltmamajb says:

    This is the absolute cutest quilt ever! Thanks so much for sharing it…it does look like the button candy we had as kids. So cool and summery. Thanks again…piece.

  34. V and Co. says:

    VICKIE!
    i think this is so dang cute! congrats on a super cute tut!

  35. What a great quilt. The yo-yo's add the perfect touch of whimsy.

  36. Kim says:

    This is a really cute quilt and I love the variety of fabrics. The yoyo's are a great addition and adds extra charm to the quilt.

  37. Sheila says:

    Great instructions! Great guilt!

  38. Fiesta says:

    Lovely quilt. I would love to make this one.

  39. Pat says:

    Love it! It is toooo cute.

  40. That is super cute! Love the colors!

  41. Caia says:

    I just finished a twin-size of this quilt. For an additional border, I made small, 2″ candy buttons. It looks GREAT! Something I never would have thought of on my own. thank you!

  42. HMG says:

    I just finished one of these too! I made a couple of changes, but I LOVE the way it turned out, thanks for the idea, Vickie!!

Leave a Reply

